Tilly-sur-Seulles War Cemetery is a British Second World War cemetery of Commonwealth soldiers located in the village of Tilly-sur-Seulles, some 13 km south of Bayeux in Normandy. The cemetery contains 990 Commonwealth burials and 232 German graves.
The Allied offensive in north-western Europe began with the Normandy landings of 6 June 1944. There was heavy and fluctuating fighting in the vicinity of Tilly-sur-Seulles immediately after the landings involving chiefly the 49th and 50th Divisions.
The majority of the soldiers interred in the cemetery were killed during the breakout battles (such as Operation Bluecoat) fought by the Allies in July and August 1944. Casualties are from the 7th Armoured Division, 49th (West Riding) Infantry Division and 50th (Northumbrian) Infantry Division as well as a number of Irish Guards officers and servicemen from the Royal Norfolk Regiment.
Tilly-sur-Seulles was finally liberated on 18 June 1944 and the first interment in the cemetery was on 8 July 1944. A number of casualties previously in field graves were re-interred in the cemetery. The cemetery contains 990 Commonwealth burials of the Second World War and 232 German graves.
Duration of the visit: As long as you wish
There a few spaces on the road outside.
The cemetery is wheelchair accessible.
No public toilets.
The cemetry is free.
SOUS LES ÈTOILES NORMANDIE is a family run campsite in the village of St Martin des Besaces, Calvados, offering camping and caravanning. Perfectly situated for exploring the undulating picturesque countryside, tasting renowned cheeses, sampling sparkling cider and of course, the famous Calvados.